10 iOS 10 Photos Memories Tips and Tricks For iPhone And iPad

iOS 10 Memories Feature

iOS 10 Memories Feature.

Memories is a new Photos app feature available with the release of iOS 10. It’s aimed at helping us to remind ourselves about past pictures shot with out iPhone’s or iPad’s camera. The tool automatically selects images captured on the same date or within a close period of time, adds a soundtrack and renders a short clip that you can watch an re-live happy moments from the past.

Time isn’t the only selection factor. You can also encounter Portrait type of memories that use the face detection technique to recognize the same person in several frames. The actual Memories slideshows aren’t created until the user taps the Play icon available on the memory’s thumbnail. After a few seconds of processing the short movie is ready. Watch it and fine tune it according to your style!

iOS 10 Photos Memories Tips and Tricks
ios 10 memories tab in photos Here you can find info about everything that you can do with the Memories feature:
1. Unveil Memories
First of all you have to learn how to access your recollections. Open the Photos app and tap the Memories tab available in the footer of the Photos home screen. It’s icon represents the Play symbol (a triangle) encircled by an arrow pointing counter-clockwise, hinting that your about to play something that happened in the past.

iphone memory slideshow play button 2. Play Slideshow
After opening the Memories view, tap on a memory that you would like to explore. Each specific memory page includes a thumbnail at the top of the screen, with a Play button available in the bottom-right corner. Hit it and the slideshow is processed.
The movie automatically starts after processing is over. Tap the screen to reveal playback controls. You can pause the playback or fast-forward the video when needed.

memories search function 3. Search Memories
With the iPhone camera being so performant, snapping a lot of pictures is common for most of us. This results in a high number of Memories. If you have a hard time finding a specific recollection use the Search tool to find your way. It’s available in the top-right corner of the Memories homepage, represented by a magnifying glass. Tap it and use a date or keyword to search for a memory. Search suggestions also appear while you type, to help you out.

ios 10 memories playback controls 4. Tweak Slideshow Theme
Memories comes with a series of predefined slideshow themes, which include: Dreamy, Sentimental, Gentle, Chill, Happy Uplifting, Epic, Club and Extreme. There’s also a Neutral theme that is used by default. To change it open Memories, select the recollection in question and play the slideshow. Next, tap the screen anywhere to unveil the playback controls. Towards the bottom of the screen, right above the movie’s timeline you find an array with the above mentioned theme types. Swipe left or right and select the desired atmosphere. Test them all as you can tweak the theme whenever you want.
Fact: The Theme type edits the way different frames are showing up, the soundtrack and the rhythm of the clip. This means that length also varies. Dreamy provides the longest playback while Extreme the shortest, about twice as fast.

iphone memories settings screen 5. Edit Title, Music, Duration, Photos & Videos
Besides changing the theme, you can also edit the Title of your Memory, choose a soundtrack from the My Music section of the Music app, manually choose the desired length of your memory. Last but not least, alter what media you want to include in the memory. iOS automatically suggests the frames, but if you don’t like a photo you can opt to drop it out, or include a picture that you really like and was left out during the automatic selection. The Memories settings page is accessible from each specific recollection. This means that you have to play a memory and after that tap the screen and pause it. The menu bar includes the Memory settings button, placed in the bottom-right corner of the screen.

6. How To Save Memories Movie
After you finish tweaking a memory and enjoy the end result you can save it and make it available for later watching. It’s saved as a movie and available in the Albums view, in the Videos folder. To save Memories you have to tap the Share button available in the bottom-left corner of the screen. It’s an icon represented by a rectangle and an arrow pointing out at the end of it. Next, hit the Save Video option and the clip will be exported and saved in the Videos folder.

memory share button

Memory Share button.

Memory save video option

Memory save video option.

iOS 10 exporting memory video

iOS 10 exporting Memory video.

deleting iphone memory 7. Delete Photos Memory
If you don’t want a memory on your iPhone or iPad anymore, open it and scroll all the way down to the end of the page until you reach the Delete Memory option. Tap it.
A prompt appears on your device’s screen asking you to confirm your selection. It also notifies you that the action can’t be undone. Tap Delete Memory again and the recollection is erased.
Fact: Memory images remain in your CameraRoll, just the memory gets deleted.

add to favorite memories option 8. Make Memory Clip A Favorite
Next to the Delete Memory action you also have the “Add to Favorite Memories” option. Tap it and the photo collection will now be featured among your favorites. To remove it, follow the same steps and instead of the Add to… option you have the “Remove from Favorites Memories” button.

9. Memories Featured People
Each memory has a section called Groups & People that displays profile images with all individuals that are featured in the memory. To check this list open the memory in question and scroll down until you reach this section.

memory people and places info 10. Memory Location
Below the Groups & People category you have the Places section that displays a map-view of where the images where taken. Tap the Map to see the exact location. There is also a Show Nearby Photos option that displays other pictures taken in close proximity.

Fact: If the Location Services option was disabled on your iPhone while you took the photos, the Location info isn’t available for that specific memory.


ShareShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on RedditPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page